We were established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973. Since being passed, the Act has been amended by various pieces of legislation. Our duties and powers with respect to local government boundaries are detailed in Section 12 to 28 of the 1973 Act. 

Under the terms of s.8 of the Scotland Act 2016, responsibility for reviews of Scottish Parliament boundaries passed from the Boundary Commission for Scotland to the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland with effect from 18 May 2017.
On 14 May 2021 our name changed to Boundaries Scotland, formerly Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland, see Section 28 of the Scottish Elections (Reform) Act 2020.

The 1973 Act specifies that Scottish Ministers may direct us on various matters. A Direction is currently in force for us not to undertake reviews under section 14(1) of the Act in the period to 31 July 2027. 

A Direction is currently in force for us not to undertake reviews under section 14(2) of the Act in the period to 30 September 2023 that would affect more than 500 electors. 

Current boundaries

Scotland is divided into 32 local authority areas as a result of the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994.

Each local authority area is divided into electoral wards. These wards were defined by Scottish Statutory Instruments in 2016 following our Fifth Statutory Reviews of Electoral Arrangements. 


Ministers have made Regulations under section 24 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 making provisions concerning the implementation of orders arising from our reviews of local authority areas. Local Government Area Changes (Scotland) Regulations 1977.

Our use of the electoral register is governed by the Representation of the People (Scotland) Regulations 2001.

Further information

Further details of legislation in the United Kingdom is available from www.legislation.gov.uk.