15 November 2023 - Commission to host Local Inquiries

We have announced arrangements for Local Inquiries into our provisional proposals for Scottish Parliament constituency boundaries.

Following our consideration of the representations received during the initial consultation on constituency boundaries conducted in May-June 2023, Local Inquiries will be held in respect of the following proposed constituencies:

  • East Lothian; and Midlothian North and Musselburgh;
  • Cunninghame South; and Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley
  • Bearsden, Milngavie and Clydebank North; and Dumbarton and Helensburgh
  • Glasgow Priesthill and Giffnock; Paisley and Renfrew; Renfrewshire South; and Renfrewshire West
  • Edinburgh Forth and Linlithgow
  • Clyde Valley and Tweeddale

Chair of Boundaries Scotland, Professor Ailsa Henderson said

“Our consultations are strengthened by local people and organisations contributing their views. Whether you support or oppose our provisional proposals for the constituencies in your area we very much want to hear from you. Responses are particularly helpful when they include specific suggestions for improvements and if they comply with the legislative rules within which we work.

Local Inquiries are held by us in areas where a local authority has objected to our proposals, where there has been a strong local response or where we feel we want additional information. They are an important part of the review process. If we subsequently change our proposals in any area we will consult again in 2024.”

Anyone wishing to speak at an inquiry is invited to contact the Commission on 0131 244 2001 or email boundaries.scot@scottishboundaries.gov.uk to book a slot.

Proposed constituencies



Dates (all held between 2-4pm and 6-8pm)


East Lothian; and Midlothian North and Musselburgh

Sheriff Principal Ross

7 December 2023

Musselburgh Racecourse, Linkfield Road, Musselburgh, EH21 7RG

Cunninghame South; Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley

Sheriff Principal Murphy

12 December 2023

The Park Hotel, 2 Dundonald Place, Kilmarnock, KA1 1UR

Bearsden, Milngavie and Clydebank North; and Dumbarton and Helensburgh

Sheriff Principal Murphy

13 December 2023

Clydebank Leisure Centre, Queens Quay, Aurora Ave, Clydebank G81 1BF

Glasgow Priesthill and Giffnock; Paisley and Renfrew; Renfrewshire South; Renfrewshire West

Sheriff Principal Murphy

14 December 2023

Afternoon session - Lynnhurst Hotel, Park Road, Johnstone, PA5 8LS
Evening session - Parklands Hotel & Country Club, Crookfur Park, Ayr Road, Newton Mearns, G77 6DT

Edinburgh Forth and Linlithgow

Sheriff Principal Ross

9 January 2024

Village Hotel Club, 140 Crewe Road South, Edinburgh, EH4 2NY

Clyde Valley and Tweeddale

Sheriff Principal Ross

11 January 2024

Peebles Hydro, Innerleithen Road, Peebles, EH45 8LX