Second Review of Scottish Parliament Boundaries

Our Second Review of the constituencies and regions of the Scottish Parliament commenced on 1 September 2022.

The review is required under the terms of the Scotland Act 1998 and will recommend constituencies, and regions, of similar electorate size while also taking account of local authority areas, special geographical circumstances, maintenance of local ties and any inconveniences caused by the alteration of the existing boundaries.

The review of constituencies will cover the 70 mainland constituencies. The constituencies of Na h-Eileanan an Iar, Orkney Islands and Shetland Islands are protected in legislation and so excluded from this review. The review of the regions will, however, encompass all 73 constituencies at the Scottish Parliament. The overall number of MSPs (129) is fixed in legislation and will not change as a result of this review.

The First Review reported in 2010 and the current boundaries have been used in the Scottish Parliament elections of 2011, 2016 and 2021.

We consulted on our provisional proposals for constituencies from 17 May to 17 June 2023. We have also published all responses from our consultation, see Following consideration of the representations received we held six local inquiries.

We consulted on our revised proposals for constituencies from 16 April to 15 May 2024. Maps and further information on our revised proposals are available below. 

We will consult on proposals for regions later in 2024. 

We will submit a report to Scottish Ministers by 1 May 2025. If subsequently approved by the Scottish Parliament, the new boundaries will be effective at the next Scottish Parliament election, expected in May 2026.

Supporting and background information

Start of Second Review of Scottish Parliament Boundaries News Release

Electorate - Existing Constituency/ Region, Council Area, Ward

Scottish Parliament - Guide to Second Review

All Scotland Existing Scottish Parliament Constituencies map

Revised Proposals - Constituencies (consultation 16 April - 15 May 2024)

News Release - consultation revised proposals constituencies

Constituency - Revised Proposals Electorate

Revised Proposals Constituency Maps

Aberdeen Central | Aberdeen Donside | Aberdeen South and North Kincardine | Aberdeenshire East | Aberdeenshire West | Airdrie | Angus North and Mearns | Angus South | Argyll and Bute | Ayr | Banffshire and Buchan Coast | Bathgate | Caithness, Sutherland and Ross | Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley | Clackmannanshire and Dunblane | Clydebank and Milngavie | Clydesdale | Coatbridge and Chryston | Cowdenbeath | Cumbernauld and Kilsyth | Cunninghame North | Cunninghame South | Dumbarton | Dumfriesshire | Dundee City East | Dundee City West | Dunfermline | East Kilbride | Eastwood | Edinburgh Central | Edinburgh Eastern, Musselburgh and Tranent | Edinburgh North Eastern | Edinburgh North Western | Edinburgh Northern | Edinburgh South Western | Edinburgh Southern | Erskine and Cardonald | Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire | Falkirk North | Fife North East | Galloway and West Dumfries | Glasgow Central | Glasgow Eastern | Glasgow North Eastern | Glasgow Northern | Glasgow South Eastern | Glasgow Southern | Glasgow Western | Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse | Inverclyde | Inverness and Nairn | Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley | Kirkcaldy | Linlithgow and Falkirk South | Livingston and Breich Valley | Lothian Eastern | Mid Fife and Glenrothes | Midlothian North | Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale | Moray | Motherwell and Wishaw | Paisley | Perthshire North | Perthshire South and Kinross-shire | Renfrewshire West | Rutherglen | Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch | Stirling | Strathkelvin and Bearsden | Uddingston and Bellshill

All Scotland Maps – Revised Proposals: All Scotland Revised | All Scotland Revised Central Belt

Revised Proposals Summary Booklet

GIS Data - Revised Proposals Constituencies

Local Inquiries - Provisional Proposals - Constituencies

Local Inquiries - News Release Venues and Timings

Clydebank Local Inquiry Transcript

Clydebank Local Inquiry Sheriff Principal Report

Edinburgh Local Inquiry Transcript

Edinburgh Local Inquiry Sheriff Principal Report

Johnstone/ Newton Mearns Local Inquiry Transcript

Johnstone/ Newton Mearns Local Inquiry Sheriff Principal Report

Kilmarnock Local Inquiry Transcript

Kilmarnock Local Inquiry Sheriff Principal Report

Musselburgh Local Inquiry Transcript

Musselburgh Local Inquiry Sheriff Principal Report

Peebles Local Inquiry Transcript

Peebles Local Inquiry Sheriff Principal Report

Provisional Proposals - Constituencies (consultation 17 May - 17 June 2023)

News Release - consultation provisional proposals constituencies

Provisional Proposals Booklet

Constituency - Provisional Proposals Electorate

All Scotland Provisional Proposals Constituencies map

Provisional Proposals - GIS Data

Provisional Proposals Constituency Maps

Aberdeen CentralAberdeen DonsideAberdeen South and North KincardineAberdeenshire EastAberdeenshire WestAirdrie, Newmains and ShottsAngus North and MearnsAngus SouthArgyll and ButeAyr Banff and Buchan CoastBathgate and Almond ValleyBearsden, Milngavie and Clydebank NorthBellshill and CoatbridgeCaithness, Sutherland and RossCarrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleyClackmannanshire and DunblaneClyde Valley and TweeddaleCowdenbeathCumbernauld and ChrystonCunninghame NorthCunninghame SouthDumbarton and HelensburghDumfriesshire Dundee City EastDundee City WestDunfermlineEast KilbrideEast LothianEdinburgh CentralEdinburgh EasternEdinburgh Forth and LinlithgowEdinburgh Northern and LeithEdinburgh PentlandsEdinburgh SouthernEdinburgh WesternEttrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire |  Falkirk EastFalkirk WestFife North EastGalloway and West DumfriesGlasgow AnnieslandGlasgow Cardonald and PollokGlasgow Central and GovanGlasgow Kelvin and MaryhillGlasgow Priesthill and GiffnockGlasgow Shettleston and BailliestonGlasgow Southside and CathcartGlasgow Springburn and ProvanHamilton and UddingstonInverclyde Inverness and NairnKilmarnock and Irvine ValleyKirkcaldy Kirkintilloch and KilsythLarkhall and ClydesdaleLivingston Mid Fife and GlenrothesMidlothian North and MusselburghMidlothian SouthMoray | Motherwell | Paisley and RenfrewPerthshire NorthPerthshire South and Kinross-shireRenfrewshire SouthRenfrewshire WestRutherglen | Skye, Lochaber and BadenochStirling